To See The Mountain And Other Stories

by Caine Prize for African Writing

KSh 1,000

The 2011 judges panel for The Caine Prize for African Writing was chaired by award-winning Libyan novelist Hisham Matar. Joining him were Granta deputy editor Ellah Allfrey, Georgetown University Professor of English David Gewanter, publisher, film and travel writer Vicky Unwin, and the award-winning author Aminatta Forna.

126 qualifying stories were submitted from 17 African countries and the panel announced the following 5 authors for the shortlist:

  • NoViolet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe), Hitting Budapest
  • Beatrice Lamwaka (Uganda), Butterfly Dreams
  • Tim Keegan (South Africa), What Molly Knew
  • Lauri Kubuitsile (Botswana), In the Spirit of McPhineas Lata
  • David Medalie (South Africa), The Mistress’s Dog

You can read the above stories on the Caine Prize website.

This anthology is a co-publishing arrangement between The Caine Prize for African Writing, New Internationalist, Cassava Republic in Nigeria, Jacana Media in South Africa and Kwani Trust in Kenya.


There are no reviews yet.

Add your review

Caine Prize for African Writing

The Caine Prize for African Writing is a literature prize awarded to an African writer of a short story published in English. The prize was launched in 2000 to encourage and highlight the richness and diversity of African writing by bringing it to a wider audience internationally. The focus on the short story reflects the contemporary development of the African story-telling tradition. Caine Prize for African Writing