The Fishermen

by Chigozie Obioma

KSh 1,600

Nine-year-old Benjamin is the youngest of four brothers. They live in the rocky hills of Akure. When their civil servant father is transferred to another town, the boys begin misbehaving: smashing windows, severing chicken heads and playing truant to follow billionaire politician M.K.O Abiola’s campaign trail. For six weeks they take to fishing in the forbidden Omi-Ala river. There they run into Abulu, a filthy yet visionary madman whose pronouncement that the eldest boy, Ikenna, will be killed places a dark and fearful cloud over the brothers. If the prophecy is true, which of them will be the murderer?  Abulu’s words have devastating yet redemptive consequences for the family, as guilt and sadness binds the brothers, while their parents sink into despair.

With this remarkable and almost biblical parable set in the Abacha years of 1990s Nigeria, Chigozie Obioma announces his presence as a powerful new voice in Nigerian fiction.


“… a metaphorical allusion to the struggles of Nigeria’s failed leaders … and yet it remains hopeful about the redemptive possibilities of a new generation.”
– Helon Habila, author of Oil on Water 

“I find the author Chigozie Obioma to be formidably articulate and with great talent. I believe that he has it in him to become one of the best writers of the upcoming crop of young African authors.”
– Nuruddin Farah, Nobel Prize nominee, author of From A Crooked Rib 


Additional information

Dimensions 135 × 216 cm

There are no reviews yet.

Add your review

Chigozie Obioma

Chigozie Obioma was born in 1986 in Akure, Nigeria. He has lived in Nigeria, Cyprus and Turkey, and currently resides in the United States, where he is a professor of Literature and Creative Writing at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. A recipient of Hopwood Awards in Fiction and Poetry, his fiction has appeared in Virginia Quarterly Review and Transition. The Fishermen is his first novel and has been translated into 17 languages. The Fishermen was shorted-listed for the 2015 Man Booker Prize and was the winner of the inaugural FT/Oppenheimer Award for Fiction.