Lusaka Punk

by Caine Prize for African Writing

KSh 1,590

The Caine Prize for African Writing 2015 brings together the five shortlisted authors’ stories along with 12 other stories from the best new writers. Insightful, arresting and entertaining – this collection reflects the richness and range of current African writing.

A blind girl makes a pilgrimage to Lagos in search of a faith-healing miracle … A boy in a children’s home discovers the truth about his origins … In apartheid Johannesburg, an Indian insurance agent is honoured by his white bosses but his wife feels more than a little uneasy … A schoolboy and his gang investigate the mystery of the alien living in a shed … Dreams and reality merge menacingly in the last days of a former freedom fighter served by an old comrade and rival …

The authors shortlisted for the 2015 Caine Prize for African Writing are:

  1. Segun Afolabi (Nigeria) for The Folded Leaf
  2. F.T. Kola (South Africa) for A Party for the Colonel
  3. Elnathan John (Nigeria) for Flying
  4. Masande Ntshanga (South Africa) for Space
  5. Namwali Serpell (Zambia) for The Sack (winner of the 2015 prize)

In addition, 12 writers took part in the Caine Prize Writers’ Workshop, held this year in Ghana, where each produced a special story for this volume.  These 17 stories – insightful, arresting and entertaining – reflect the richness and range of current writing on the African continent.

Out of stock

There are no reviews yet.

Add your review

Caine Prize for African Writing

The Caine Prize for African Writing is a literature prize awarded to an African writer of a short story published in English. The prize was launched in 2000 to encourage and highlight the richness and diversity of African writing by bringing it to a wider audience internationally. The focus on the short story reflects the contemporary development of the African story-telling tradition. Caine Prize for African Writing