Diaries of a Dead African

by Chuma Nwokolo

KSh 1,300


Chuma Nwokolo’s Diaries of a Dead African is a merciless comedy that explores the life-threatening situations of three protagonists, the farmer Meme Jumai and his two sons – Abel (failed writer) and Calamatus (aspiring conman).

Meme’s wife has left him with the bulk of his barn. He has a few tubers to last until harvest. Can he stretch it? Will his friends and relatives help out? Calamatus’ break has finally come after an apprenticeship to a con-artist. Can he survive wealth as readily as he did, poverty? Finally Abel’s manuscripts are attracting attention, but not, as he discovers, for their literary value… his fondest dreams were on the verge of realisation, yet his father had died at 50 and his brother at 25. How to outlive them both, without fleeing the very opportunities he had craved all his life.


I just finished reading this book and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I laughed from my belly, rolled around laughing every time I remembered Stella’s love letter to Joe !!! This book made me happy and I loved the language of Meme and Calama Jumai. Chuma, well done and thank you for giving me a wonderful time exercising my lungs. I know what to read any time I need a lift. It truly deserves all the five stars and even more. A truly gifted writer.
– Mona Quartey , Amazon

Out of stock


Author: Chuma Nwokolo
ISBN: 9789782190031
Country: Nigeria
Publisher: Countycare
Size (mm): 138 x 210
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Colour: Black & White
Weight 505 grams
Language: English
Publication  Date: 02 Apr 2003



There are no reviews yet.

Add your review

Chuma Nwokolo

Chuma Nwokolo is an author and advocate. He is publisher of African Writing magazine. Called to the Bar in 1984, he published his first novel, The Extortionist (Macmillan Pacesetters) in 1983. Dangerous Inheritance (Macmillan Pacesetters) followed in 1988. He has a passion for the short story and his African Tales at Jailpoint (Villagerhouse) appeared in 1999. His other books include the novelised anthology, One More Tale for the Road (2003) as well as the poetry anthology, Memories of Stone (2006). His anthology of stories, The Ghost of Sani Abacha was published in 2012 while the novel Extinction of Menai is due in 2013.